Sensiblekitty

the green cat’s meow

Inspiration: Jack Kerouac

with 3 comments

Always one of my favorite writers – this one is a real gem. 

 

Poem by Jack Kerouac

I demand that the human race

ceases multiplying its kind

and bow out

I advise it

And as punishment and reward 

for making this plea I know

I’ll be reborn

the last human

Everybody else dead and I’m 

an old woman roaming the earth

groaning in caves 

sleeping on mats

And sometimes I’ll cackle, sometimes

pray, sometimes cry, eat and cook

at my little stove

in the corner

“Always knew it anyway”

I’ll say

And one morning won’t get up from my mat.

Written by sensiblekitty

November 30, 2008 at 6:48 pm

Posted in inspiration

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice post.

    Maybe you’d enjoy my Kerouac-inspired blog at http://www.thedailybeatblog.blogspot.com.

    Rick

    November 30, 2008 at 10:25 pm

  2. Perfect source of inspiration indeed! The Beats are amazing. I have to say “On the Road” was nearly life-changing.

    Check out “Howl” by Ginsberg. It’s equally awesome.

    myriadme

    December 1, 2008 at 12:39 am

  3. oh jack, how i love thee.

    Amber

    December 8, 2008 at 5:09 pm


Leave a Reply

