Sensiblekitty

the green cat’s meow

Asheville Gas Crisis: Update – Crisis over or temporarily averted?

with 10 comments

I’m working to gather various news sources around the gas crunch in Asheville. I wish I knew more about what happened and what is happening. One thing is for sure – Asheville isn’t alone in its gas situation as it seems that most of the South East is now seeing a shortage of fuel supplies.

I was really surprised when I read this on WBIR TV, Knoxville’s news station. Knoxville citizens seem very upset about Pilot sending gas to Asheville. Also, I dont understand why it says that Pilot sent us the fuel so our schools can stay open. AB Tech closed this week and the Asheville school system clearly stated it had a few days of fuel left. So – whats the real deal behind that?

Also, as someone from East Tennessee, I’m a little upset to hear so much of an uproar against sending fuel to Asheville. From what I’ve read, it looks like most citizens are actually upset with Pilot because of a shortage they went through a couple weeks ago and now Pilot suddenly has reserve gas to send to another state. Let me just say – we do need fuel here in WNC and I know a lot of people are incredibly grateful for any help that we receive. Side note : my household hasn’t gotten gas in over a week.

The Christian Science Monitor has a great article about the gas situation in the South East. I still am baffled at our own country’s lack of coverage on the problem. In a world of 24 hour news cycles – why isn’t this getting more coverage?

Here’s the mainstream media coverage I’ve discovered so far :

CNN : Gas shortage leads to fights, threatens college football in South (Looks like threatening football games is what it takes to make the national news.)

FOX Carolina: Gas shortage continues 2 weeks after Ike

If you know of any other articles, leave a comment. I’m terribly interested in the lack of national attention on such a widespread and dire problem.

UPDATE: Best news article I’ve seen so far, with emphasis on the kind of worries that I’ve been having about a nationwide gas shortage.

CNN MONEY : More Gas Shortages on the Way

Written by sensiblekitty

September 26, 2008 at 8:02 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was able to gas up my friends car who has been helping out with getting us around, but meanwhile my car sits on empty in the drive. I agree that this isn’t getting much airtime, but with all that’s been going on this week, it’s somewhat understandable.

    We could really use some common sense to alleviate this shortage.

    1) the Mayor has asked for rationing, and it’s about time. I was allowed to fill up, but would have accepted a 10 gallon maximum so that others could get gas. I honestly expect to be limited to a certain amount and was suprised to see the pump keep going.

    2) Let us know who is getting gas, when, so we can quit wasting gas looking for gas. That’s why I’m out, hours spent in two lines that ran out before I got to the pump. I have already drained the mower gas can into the car.

    3) Some one show some leadership, please.

    Thanks

    Gilles

    September 26, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  2. One way to find out who has gas is to simply call the gas stations.

    Also, the Citizen Times is updating occasionally on where gas can be found.

    I agree that there’s been a total lack of leadership on this issue.

    Good luck to us all.

    sensiblekitty

    September 26, 2008 at 9:24 pm

  3. Hi there… I live right outside of Nashville, Tenn., and we just experienced this last week and part of this week. There are still stations without gas in Nashville, though if you head out to outlying counties you can generally find gas. Of course, I had to wait over an hour and a half last weekend when I was on E to get some.

    But here’s my question: My boyfriend and I are coming to Asheville Wednesday to be married Saturday. I’m worried about two things: Having enough gas to get there and then out to Mooresboro (where the wedding will take place), and also if we’ll be able to get our license. Are all of the county and city offices closed? I tried calling but didn’t get an answer. If I can’t get a marriage license Wed., Thurs. or Friday we’re in big trouble. :/

    Meg

    September 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  4. Here’s a list of things closed due to the shortage:
    http://www.citizen-times.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=200880925126

    “Asheville City and Buncombe County offices: Closed today and Monday. Buncombe County employees can use leave, flexible work schedules or work from home today.”

    And – I’m hopeful that by Wednesday of next week, we will be back to normal. Or close to it. Or at least have some gas in the area.

    Some say the crisis is over, but I’m still not seeing it.

    http://ashvegas.squarespace.com/journal/2008/9/25/gas-crunch-is-over-most-gas-stations-in-asheville-have-gas-n.html

    sensiblekitty

    September 26, 2008 at 11:53 pm

  5. “Some say the crisis is over, but I’m still not seeing it”

    You are so right. Also, you bring up a great point about the lack of coverage nationally.

    Susan

    September 27, 2008 at 2:02 am

  6. Yeah, when it was happening in Nashville the only national news media that picked it up was CNN (who said the panic was because of a rumor—they completely discounted our actual lack of gas) and Consumerist, who basically said we were a bunch of hicks.

    I realize that people are going to panic and buy gas unnecessarily, but I also think that there is a lack of it in certain areas of the country. Atlanta and Athens, Ga., were running out this week, and we heard Charleston S.C. was last weekend, too.

    Meg

    September 27, 2008 at 3:46 am

  7. Thanks SensibleKitty for the list. I hope that we can get our marriage license Wed., Thurs., or Friday. I’m going to be really sad if we come all the way there and can’t get married. 😦

    Meg

    September 27, 2008 at 3:48 am

  8. SensibleKitty, I got this on twitter about 4 hours ago from
    Asheville Live : Hate to bring it up but, Atlanta is out of gas all gas headin to Wnc is getting diverted there! City of Asheville will confirm this 2morrow. Ugh…and what is up with the lack of media coverage?

    digitalpoetry

    September 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm

  9. Digitalpoetry – Looks like it was a temporary solution after all. I have only seen 2 stations with gas this weekend.

    sensiblekitty

    September 28, 2008 at 11:50 pm

  10. I haven’t been out this week yet…not looking forward too it

    digitalpoetry

    September 29, 2008 at 11:27 pm


Leave a Reply

