Sensiblekitty

the green cat’s meow

Walk Score

with one comment

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ll be moving in less than a week! Part of the excitement of the move comes from living in an area that will allow me to use my own feet as my primary source of transportation. To get a real sense of my current location and my new location I’m going to enlist the help of Walk Score.

Walk Score ranks 2,508 neighborhoods in the largest 40 U.S. cities to help you find a walkable place to live.

The ratings are 1 to 100, 100 of course being the best.

Current home in Leicester: 23 out of 100 CAR DEPENDENT

New home in downtown Asheville: 86 out of 100 VERY WALKABLE

So hop over to Walk Score and see how your neighborhood ranks. This tool is especially useful for anyone planning to move soon who wants to reduce their gasoline bill and environmental impact. Anyone moving to San Francisco is particularly in luck, as SF is THE most walkable city.

Written by sensiblekitty

August 26, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My walk score is 53… I was rather upset with it. And I was surprised to know that there is another score called to evaluate my house. I found the way to calculate it online at Fizber site http://drivescore.fizber.com/. I’ve got much better results – 86.

    FSBO

    September 29, 2008 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

