Sensiblekitty

the green cat’s meow

Daydream

leave a comment »

Iris Murdoch: A life, comes this poem that I simply adore:

I loved you once

I loved you once in silent desperation
shyness and envy wracked me numb with pain
I loved you once. God grant such adoration
so true, so gentle, comes your way again.

Those droplets that I let slip through my fingers were sweet with moisture. When my hands are cracked I miss their cool relief. Fresh squeezed water like innocent purity, magnifying every crease and life line of my palms. This is what its like to hold water. This is what its like to live. This is what I’m stuck on. Billy Pilgrim – help me unstick myself.

Written by sensiblekitty

April 28, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

